top of page

8 Great Habits for Expats To Slow The Grey, Reduce The Grizzle, And Stay Gaijin


This is my latest guest post for Craig Hoffman's blog, Grey, Grizzled, And Gaijin. I highly recommend reading the other posts this blog for anyone who wants to know more about living and working in Japan long term. Enjoy!

Hey Grey, Grizzled, and Gaijin readers. This is David Hayter. I’ve been teaching in Japan for about four years now. When I’m not teaching, I post on my blog, Yokkaichi Connections.

And, I run the blog section for ALT Training Online, a free website that offers in-service training for Assistant Language Teachers.

As a realistic optimist, I’m always looking for new ways to improve my skills, get things done, and enjoy life. I’m not in the business of wishing for things, I’m in the business of making things happen! I hope you enjoy my post, let’s get to it.

8 GREAT HABITS FOR EXPATS TO SLOW THE GREY, REDUCE THE GRIZZLE, AND STAY GAIJIN

EAT RIGHT

Being the best version of yourself starts with a healthy diet. I’m not advocating that you become vegan or follow the latest fad diet, but you should make efforts to eat relatively healthy most of the time.

This can be a challenge if you’re in a country with food and ingredients that are really different from what you’re used to. It pays to do some research and find healthy alternatives for the foods you like.

ONE WAY TO DO THIS IS TO TRY TO COOK AT HOME MORE OFTEN. YOU’LL SAVE MONEY AND BUILD SOME SKILLS AT THE SAME TIME!

If you eat healthy most of the time, your body can absorb that large pizza you like to eat on the weekends (at least mine can).

bottom of page